If you have recently moved or are planning a move to the state of New Hampshire then you may be interested in information regarding car insurance for that state. One interesting thing about the state of New Hampshire state motor vehicle laws do not actually require you to have car insurance. However you must be able to show that you have the money on hand to pay for any damages out of your own pocket in the event you are found at fault for an accident. If it is shown that you do not have the funds to cover an accident you are at fault for your driving privileges will be suspended.
New Hampshire is not a “no fault” state. You must be found at fault for any accident before you are required to pay for the damages incurred.
What are the state requirements for car insurance?
Since most of us do not have $150,000 in the bank or more just in case this article will explain what the suggested state minimum requirements are.
The following list is the minimums of what exactly New Hampshire law requires for car insurance if you do not happen to have a spare $150,000. Even though it is not required if you do opt to purchase auto insurance you will need to meet the state minimum requirements of 25/50/25. These numbers are explained below:
Bodily injury liability per person $25,000
Bodily liability pays for the person or persons injured in the other vehicle in an accident for which you have been found at fault.
Bodily injury liability total per accident $50,000
This is how much bodily injury liability you need for the total medical bills for an accident for which you are found at fault.
Property damage $25,000
If you are at fault in an accident property damage coverage pays for the repairs to the other parties vehicle.
Medical Payments Coverage: $1,000 Medical payments coverage pays for the medical expenses that are incurred because of an accident.
Uninsured Motorist: $50,000 or equal to the amount of your total liability insurance levels. Uninsured motorist covers your injuries in the event you are involved in an accident for which the other party is both at fault and uninsured and under insured.
You do not need to purchase collision or comprehensive insurance however both of these types of insurance cover your vehicle and without them your injuries and the other person’s vehicle and injuries will be covered but your vehicle will not.
What is the average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire?
Although your payment amounts for car insurance depends on factors such as age, address, driving record and a great many other factors, the average cost of car insurance is around $1,200 for 2010.
Who regulates car insurance in the state of New Hampshire?
If you have a problem or complaint about your insurance company in New Hampshire you can request help from:
The New Hampshire Insurance Department
21 s. Fruit Street, Suite 14
Concord, NH 03301