Auto Insurance Companies in Washington
Washington state residents have a wide variety of auto insurance companies to choose from, ranging from State Farm, Allstate, Progressive, Geico, Farmers Insurance, American Family Insurance, Liberty Insurance Company, to Nationwide Insurance.
Average Rate for Auto Insurance in Washington
According to records from 2007, the Insurance Information Institute, shows that the average rates for automobile insurance in Washington state are $841.00. This price makes Washington the fifteenth highest state in the nation for insurance prices and makes this price almost $50.00 higher than the national average rate.
This rate can vary from person to person and car to car depending on different factors of the driver and car itself. Along with your age, driving history, education level, professional and marital status, Washington allows insurance companies to base their rates on your Personal Credit History. This history can be used to determine your “insurance risk score” which in turn allows the insurance company to help determine your rates and the payment schedule you will be allowed to pay on, and it it be monthly or quarterly or all payments right up front.
Information based on your automobile, the year, make, and model of your auto as well as the amount your paid for it and the condition it is in, also are factors used in determining your insurance rates. Your rate can also be determined by the safety features of your auto and how many miles you expect to drive the insured auto.
Washington State Requirements Regarding Auto Insurance
In the state of Washington all drivers are required, by law, to have a basic liability insurance policy, with the exception of motorcycles and antique vehicles. The minimum required amounts required by law include, $25,000.00 for bodily injury or death per person, per accident. $50,000.00 for bodily injury or death for two or more people, per accident. And $10,000.00 for damage to other’s property per accident.
All insurance cards are expected to contain the driver’s name, the policy number, the dates the policy begins and expires, as well as who the insurance company is, and the make, model and year of the insured car.
According to Washington state laws, if you are found driving without automobile insurance, you will face a fine of at least $450.00. The law also explains that if you provide false insurance information that you could be charged with a misdemeanor.
Washington state does not require uninsured / uninsured motorist coverage for its drivers.
As a follower of the Tort System, Washington requires, when an accident does occur, that an individual must be found to be the cause of the accident, as determined by the state. Washington state requires that the person determined to be the cause of the accident is liable for all the damages made.
All automobile insurance companies are regulated by the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commission.